National Philanthropy Day Awards Descriptions

National Philanthropy Day logo

AFP Philanthropy Day Awards Descriptions
Eastern Iowa Chapter

Outstanding Individual Philanthropist
This award is presented to an individual or family with a proven record of exceptional generosity; who, through direct financial support, has demonstrated outstanding civic and charitable responsibility; and whose generosity encourages others to take leadership roles in philanthropy and community affairs.

Outstanding Volunteer Fundraiser
The individual eligible for this nomination must have demonstrated exceptional skills in coordinating and motivating groups of volunteers for one or more major fundraising project(s) for the benefit of a charitable institution, as well as a commitment to the advancement of philanthropy.

Outstanding Fundraising Professional
This award recognizes a fundraising professional whose career exemplifies excellence in ethical fundraising through both their professional life, volunteer and community involvement, and commitment to AFP. Recipient must be a member of AFP.

Outstanding Philanthropic Youth
This award recognizes service by a young person, through age 18, who has demonstrated exceptional commitment and leadership in the community through his/her guidance and dedication to philanthropy.

Outstanding Philanthropic Organization (Large and Small Business Categories)
To qualify for this award, a corporation or foundation must demonstrate outstanding commitment through financial support and through encouragement and motivation of others to take leadership roles in philanthropy and community affairs. Large business is defined as over 50 local employees, or a nationally based organization. Small business is defined as up to 50 local employees.

Benjamin Franklin Award
AFP recognizes that it is impossible to establish awards that can meet every category of philanthropy deserving of recognition.  For that reason the Benjamin Franklin Award has been created.

This award is not meant to be given out either by every region or every year.  It is not meant to be a runner up award.  It is meant to recognize an individual or group whose commitment to philanthropy is demonstrably profound, but which falls between the cracks of the award criteria.

The decision to give out this award is at the discretion of the regional selection committee.  For the award to be given, the committee must feel that there are compelling reasons to recognize this individual’s efforts and that no other award would be appropriate.  Not being selected as the recipient for another award is not a sufficient reason.