National Philanthropy Day Nominations 2017

National Philanthropy Day logo

Please mark your calendar for Tuesday, November 14, 2017 for the annual celebration of National Philanthropy Day with a special luncheon at the Radisson, Coralville.

Currently, AFP Eastern Iowa is accepting nominations of individuals, foundations and corporations who best represent the spirit of philanthropy in our community.  Thank you for taking a few minutes to review the list of award categories and submit one or more nominations.  This is your opportunity to recognize inspirational giving in its many forms. This year’s recipients will be selected by a panel of previous honorees, and will be recognized November 14.

Please refer to the awards criteria as you prepare your nominations. Please review the list of previous honorees to ensure you do not nominate someone who has previously received an award.  One recipient will be selected per category from among Benton, Cedar, Iowa, Johnson, Jones, Linn and Washington counties, the area of focus for AFP Eastern Iowa.

Nomination forms must be received via regular mail, email or online form submission no later than July 31, 2017.

National Philanthropy Day Awards Categories

  • Outstanding Individual Philanthropist
  • Outstanding Volunteer Fundraiser
  • Outstanding Fundraising Professional
  • Outstanding Philanthropic Youth
  • Outstanding Philanthropic Organization (Large Business)
  • Outstanding Philanthropic Organization (Small Business)
  • Benjamin Franklin Award


Formal invitations to National Philanthropy Day will be mailed in the fall.  If you have any questions, or would like more info on event sponsorship or tables, please contact Leslie Elem at

AFP Philanthropy Day Awards Descriptions

Past AFP Philanthropy Day Recipients

Click the button below to fill out an online form and submit a nomination.



If you prefer to download, print and submit a paper form, use the button below.